Once Upon a Book Club Box (Adult Edition)

Once Upon a Book Club Box (Adult Edition)

by Once Upon a Book Club
Creating a unique reading experience every month by bringing books TO LIFE!

Plans as low as

$61.25/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (517)

  1. Reviews for this product (390)
  2. Reviews for this seller (127)

IM NOT JOKING YOU NEED THIS

Feb 14, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Victoria M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

This was amazing. I'm already an avid ready and I hate stopping when I get into a book....unless it's for a book related gift! The gifts were incredibly thoughtful and were great quality. So many great things from the author that I was not expecting and I very much enjoyed the book that I probably would not have picked out on my own. This is more than worth it!

Verified Purchase

Good gift for a daydreaming reader

Feb 04, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Rose B.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months

It was a great gift for my sister, the whole idea is super fun! Feels immersive, wish they did this for more genres!!

Verified Purchase

Very fun

Jul 26, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Renee K.
13 Reviews
6 Pictures
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 27 days

When I got my OUAB box I had several books that I needed to read so it took me a few weeks to get to started. I’m sure by now that everyone has already opened their box which is why I’m comfortable sharing the photo of my opened surprises. It really was a lot of fun to get stuff that tied in with the story.
I recommend this box.

Verified Purchase

None

Jan 30, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Mallory B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

No response to messages, haven’t received product or tracking information.

Verified Purchase

Didn't arrive on time, no communication

Jan 08, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Teresa M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 27 days

Didn't arrive on time, and no communication. Still waiting.

Verified Purchase

Don’t Subscribe Right Now

Dec 22, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Angela A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months

This company used to be the best. I looked forward to my box every month and was pleased with all the gifts. Now, everything has gone the other direction. I completely understand shipping issues and delays but every single month? And by over a month? But they always take your monthly payment out without fail. It’s December and we are still waiting for our Halloween boxes. The company promised our Christmas boxes on time but we just found out they will not arrive. Other book clubs got my boxes here on time, They have had issues too but slight problems that they have recovered from and earned back trust. They need to get their act together or they will continue to have people move to other companies. I will try them again if I hear they get their act together and are the great company they once were.

Verified Purchase

Do not recommend

Dec 20, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Juliana J.
80 Reviews
38 Pictures
89 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 years

Boxes take MONTHS to appear if they even do. It’s almost Christmas and I never received my Halloween boxes or Christmas boxes.

Verified Purchase
Once Upon a Book Club said...Dec 20, 2021

Hi Juliana! Thanks so much for your feedback. We have posted daily updates about our boxes on our main website - we recommend checking it out in the future to stay up to date on all our seasonal boxes. We're so sorry for the delays and if you'd like a refund for any of the holiday boxes that are currently late, please contact our customer service team and we can take care of that for you.

Gotta Get Yourself One, Both, or More!

May 19, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Toni C.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 2 months

I stumbled on Once Upon a Bookclub not too long ago but didn’t subscribe until the Bridgerton box came out. At that point, I went whole hog and subscribed to both the Adult and Young Adult boxes. The gifts associated with each book are quality, and so much fun to open as you read. It’s quickly become my favorite subscription box I get.
Get yourself one today!

Verified Purchase

Brings the Book to Life

May 18, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Monique B.
2 Reviews
4 Pictures
Subscribed for 7 months

OUABC is such a fun subscription box because they really bring the stories to life. As you’re reading, you’ll find post it’s in the book referring to a gift to open. The gifts truly bring the story to life and perfectly match what’s happening in the story. For example-the main character might have gotten a bracelet from her best friend in the story. And then you get that bracelet as a gift! It’s so fun because it’s an immersive experience.

Verified Purchase

Such a fun and immersive experience! !

May 19, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Rebecca J.
1 Review
3 Pictures

If you love to read and love surprises, this is the best box! In each box, you get several gifts, a book mark, book, guide and quote card. Sometimes there are also other surprises like: autographs, digital gifts or stickers. You are alerted to open a gift with a sticky note on the appropriate corresponding page.
This is such a great idea, especially if you are reading along with a family member (I read most of mine with my son).
You also can choose between adult and young adult boxes.
Pics are from 3 different, random, recent boxes

Love it!

May 19, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Astrid P.
1 Review
1 Picture

I love the items, I love how they tie in with the reading and it makes it a unique experience for the reader

Subscribe to this Book Box!!!

May 18, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Rachel K.
1 Review
1 Picture

This my absolute favorite subscription box! It is one I don't ever see myself canceling. The staff are amazing and provide the best customer service there is! Such an great experience each month!

Great box

Nov 11, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Emma
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

Awesome subscription everyone i have put on to this loves it

Verified Purchase

Awesome if you're into credit card fraud

Dec 07, 2021
Overall
Tanya
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

This company has charged my card for unauthorized purchases twice. I'm going to have to cancel my card to get them to stop.

Verified Purchase
Once Upon a Book Club said...Dec 07, 2021

Hi Tanya! I apologize about any miscommunication on our part. I have refunded all unshipped orders back to you. We hope you give us another try in the future!

Over All OUATBkClub

May 27, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Margaret O.
1 Review
3 Pictures
12 Helpful
Subscribed for 11 months

I’m 64 and my daughter convinced me to join. She gets YA and I get Adult, then we switch the books. We have our own mother/daughter book review and a journal we write it. Because of OUATBkC I have read more, different genres I never would have chosen for myself; that because of you, I found totally inspiring. During this stay at home time; regardless of shipping delays, I’m reading more. Discussing more with my daughter (whose 29) and keeping ahead of her in our reading goal for the year. Thank you for a great program, great gifts...oh if they are not for this old lady they go to my daughter! Lol thank you for something new, something bright and a wonderful adventure each box!!

Verified Purchase

OUABC -experience the book not just read

May 19, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Megan C.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 1 year

Once upon a book club has been my favorite book box subscription after trying a few of them during covid. It creates an experience when you read the book with quality, usable gifts that relate to the story. I’ve been a subscriber for almost a year now and I’ve gotten both the adult and young adult boxes. I have enjoyed every book that I received, there are many gifts that i continue to use. All books are new releases so you’ll never get a book that you’ve already read. They do a great job of selecting different styles of books every month although they typically are fiction or women’s fiction. I’ve not felt it be repetitive with book ideas or gifts. I have also purchased most of their specialty boxes- the advent box (12 days of stories and bookish gifts around holiday time- soooo fun), Halloween, Valentines and the classic box. Sometimes shipping can be delayed due to book release issues or gift shipping delays but it’s only an occasional occurrence. When you first sign up it might take awhile to get your first box due to order timing and when the box actually ships (later in the month) but be patient- it’s worth the wait!!

Verified Purchase

Reading Enhanced.

May 19, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Darrie D.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
Subscribed for 3 months

Once Upon a Book Club is a reader’s delight. The concept of this book box is so unique, it combines your love of reading with the joy opening presents. Every month OUaBC sends you a brand new novel along with wrapped, numbered gifts that you open when you get to the corresponding page. Gifts can be anything from scarves to bath salts, key chains to concept art, and even other books. What makes these gifts so unique in my opinion is that each gift is directly related to the passage of the book that it goes with which enhances your reading experience. I have given OUaBC as gifts and have turned on several friends and co-workers to this wonderful company. 11 books in and 11 new authors to love.

Verified Purchase

Good job guys

Oct 25, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Arvy L.
1 Review

I love it so much

Shipping issues and delayed deliveries

Nov 22, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Julia D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months

Major shipping issues + moving to a new website. Boxes are way behind on shipping and can not determine what has shipped and what hasn;t. Love the books and boxes but be prepared to track whether your order actually ships

Verified Purchase

3 different titles!

Oct 01, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Alicia A.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

Overall this is a genius idea of a book box. It is exciting to wait to open up a "present" at that time of the novel. You want to read faster just to get to open the gift! If I could offer any suggestion, it would be to have more items that can be used after the book is done. Some are casually looked at but then honestly they are put in the drawer or trash. And they are great Items that go with the novel but not anything you can use in life. There has been some journals, umbrellas, etc that can be used. But there are no many. Maybe the geniuses dreaming up the items can try and include 1-2 items that can be used after the book is finished. I am a repeat buyer who is ordering her first Christmas boxes! Very excited. I also ordered the scary halloween box. Only reason I didn't order the sweet too is it is a sequel of a book I haven't read yet. So wouldnt be able to read it.
Thanks!!!

Verified Purchase

Wonderful idea

Oct 22, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Donna C.
1 Review

Great experience!!!!!

Buyer Beware

Nov 18, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tonya S.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 months

I have had terrible experiences with this box. The previous box had a strongly scented item that permeated every product in the box. It smelled terrible and the items were ruined because of it. I reached out to see if I could get non scented boxes in the future and received no response. My next box had a broken item. Buyer beware.

Verified Purchase
Once Upon a Book Club said...Nov 18, 2021

Hi Tonya! Thank you so much for your feedback - we are so sorry you didn't enjoy one of the scented items we've included! Unfortunately, we cannot guarantee our boxes will not include scented items in the future. We're sorry that it wasn't something you enjoyed! Regarding your damaged item, please make sure you're contacting our customer service directly so we can assist you (our customer service team responds to all emails within 2 business days, so if you never heard back, we never got it!)

Major shipping issues

Nov 16, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Samantha B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

I am really disappointed with the Halloween book I pre-ordered back in August that has still not been shipped. It’s almost Thanksgiving and I guess I’ll be lucky if I get it by Christmas. This happened with another subscription I did as a gift through this company, but with CoVid I was understanding. I feel like every single excuse is “oh it’s super duper late because of Covid”, but I’ve order many things through different small businesses and they still manage to be reasonable. This is an unreasonable wait time for something that is as expensive as this subscription is. It’s a cool idea, but is consistently significantly behind on shipments.

Verified Purchase

Very Enjoyable Book Club

Apr 04, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Molly B.
9 Reviews
6 Pictures
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

I wasn't really sure after reading some reviews if I would like this subscription. However, the book is fabulous, at first i thought I wouldn't like it, but oh my gosh, its wonderful, and the items are not dime store items. I dont want to ruin it for anyone so I havent opened the boxes to show the items, lets just say they fit the story and it helps to draw you in. This is not a book I would typically buy and so im glad its widening my horizons on a different style book! Please give it a try..you will like it!
Cant wait till next months book arrives!

Verified Purchase

Fun experience

Aug 31, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Alison T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

Very entertaining read. Quality of gifts was a little disappointing. Great book which is the most important thing.

Verified Purchase