Creating a unique reading experience every month! Now accepting orders for January!

Plans as low as $32.50 / month

Once Upon a Book Club reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Loved it

Aug 12, 2019
Marina G.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I really love once upon a book club I normally get the young adult books and sometimes the book isnt what I expect it to be and I end up loving the book anyways they pick the right moments to add a gift and get u into the book

Verified Purchase

Amazing

Feb 24, 2020
Theresa S.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 22 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was the coolest box I’ve ever received. I devoured the book in a night because I wanted to see all my cool gifts. I’m in love!

Verified Purchase

The most wonderful gift!

Feb 26, 2019
Michele D.
16 Reviews
10 Pictures
19 Helpful Votes
Overall

I cannot say enough good things about this. I received the first box of a subscription that was gifted to me by my mother. It was a wonderful surprise... packaged in an adorable box on the outside, with lovely boxed gifts and a book inside. The book I got is SO good I am finding it very hard to put down. And the excited anticipation of opening a gift at a specified time is thrilling. I have opened two of my 4 gifts so far and the immersion in the story makes them that much more of a treasure. This has to be one of the best gifts I have ever received. As if this were not enough, the customer service is FANTASTIC!

Good books, exciting experience

Nov 28, 2019
Kaiti T.
2 Reviews
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Been subscribing to this for a few months now, and am always excited when the box comes. I'm an avid reader (subscribe to 4 book clubs, and read ~ 6 per month). The books are generally decent - I like that it exposes me to good books and writers I would not generally pick out myself. I like that most of them come with a signed bookplate, but would love it if the books themselves were signed, as other subscriptions do.

The quality of the items are hit and miss. I love the mugs (with quotes from the books) that have been included and adore the quote cards, when they're included. Much of the items are lower quality than i would purchase for myself, but that's to be expected to keep the subscription costs manageable. I have gotten good use from some of the smaller items (cooling cloths, pens, spoons, charging cables, etc). The jewelry items and journal have been a miss - generally cheap to mid quality, and not to personal taste (though generally consistent with the book). I would love to see more things like mugs/glass cups, candles, etc incorporated in when applicable to the story.

The customer service is great! There was an occasion where my box seemed to be missing an item. I emailed them what was included, and they confirmed an item was missing and sent the item.

Overall, I love the interactive experience and well thought out items this subscription provides,...

Verified Purchase

Best Box Ever!

Oct 15, 2019
Melissa S.
5 Reviews
1 Picture
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Seriously my favorite subscription box of all time! I love to read but used to find myself in ruts of not reading because of just being busy with life. But this changed once I started getting this box. Now, I devour the books! It is apparent how much thought and care goes into the chosen gifts, which are spot on. I also find sometimes that I get stuck reading the same genre and this subscription introduces me to books I would never buy but find that I absolutely adore. I recommend this subscription box to all of my reading friends.

Verified Purchase

A MUST BUY

Jan 10, 2020
Hilma S.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Other than a delay in shipping - maybe due to Christmas season, post office delays, long distance shipping, the subscription is amazing. Cannot wait to hear how my granddaughter enjoys the process.

Verified Purchase

Great Box, Well Executed

Jan 10, 2020
Tahia W.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This box is wonderfully executed: each item comes beautifully packaged, there is group with whom to discuss the monthly read, interesting discussion questions, and unquestionably well-curated items that go along with the read. I found the experience immersive and enjoyable. However, their book choices aren't usually my cup of tea and so I've chosen to cancel this service. Take a look at their book choices before you subscribe and, if you're not an extremely picky reader, check out this fantastic box.

Verified Purchase

Once Upon a Box

Dec 27, 2019
Stacey N.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 20 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Ordered 2 as gifts.

We just received our box and wanted to post a review.

Overall: The box looks pretty cool. It was a gift for my daughter so I am not the one reading the book or opening the gifts but have high hopes she will enjoy it.

My big issue was with the shipping of the box and the response of the company, I was pretty excited to give this as a gift so planned ahead and ordered early according to their recommendations on their website, so it would come in time for Christmas. They state that they ship between the 17-20 and that is not what happened and they responded with a “sorry for the confusion but we don’t guarantee deliver by Christmas and usps is doing all they can to get them delivered.” My biggest issue was that they didn’t take responsibility for their error. They didn’t have the box packed or shipped by the date they said they would and didn’t offer to refund any of the 9.50 shipping cost. The company didn’t really seem to care much that they made a mistake and that is why I give them two stars for shipping.

Would I buy again- I am not sure about that-there are a lot of book boxes out there to try and my interactions with the company haven’t been super positive.

Verified Purchase

Must have if you love reading

Dec 27, 2019
Denise C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love this monthly box. The books are wonderful and I love all the thematic gifts that I open while reading. I have given this gift to many friends and family members and everyone loves them.

Verified Purchase

Best Book Club Ever

Nov 02, 2019
Jane S.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love this box. I am totally addicted.

Verified Purchase

Disappointed Daughter

Feb 09, 2020
Cailey M.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The book that was delivered in February for my daughter was definitely not a book that she would read. It was magic and ghosts and she is not comfortable reading those types of books. We ended up just getting rid of the book. To us it felt like a waste of the $45 that was spent for that month. Is there a way that we can choose from a selection of books for the next month? Maybe not the titles because I know you want the book to be surprise along with the gifts, but maybe we could choose from a couple of different themes? I am aware that I have no idea how a business like this is funded or organized but I would like to make a suggestion that there be a choice between two or three books themes each month that the parents can choose from that will fit their child's reading interests. It was a disappointment to her that she did not get something that she would enjoy.

Thank you,

Verified Purchase
Once Upon a Book Club said...Feb 09, 2020

Hi Cailey! Thank you so much for your feedback! We offer monthly hints every month for a full month prior to our boxes shipping. We always include details about the novel including any trigger warnings (subjects that may be unsuitable for children under the age of 14 which is our recommended age for our Young Adult box). Our January Young Adult hint included that it was a world of magic and spirits and that the main character would need the help of her ancestors and her people to save the world as she knew it. We also invite all parents to always email us or message us privately to find out the book titles prior to purchasing from us so...

Seller

Really nice but needs

Dec 12, 2019
Susan S.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

A lovely idea! And the boxing of the gifts are beautiful. But the items itself are a hit or miss. Either they are really good quality or made cheaply.

The recent advent box was a major disappointment. It was "a great price" but only 5 of the items were worth it. There were books and the short story that coincided with the items was a cliche short love story. The books are mediocre too. I just wish that the box was worth its price because it is expensive.

Verified Purchase

Delays and Low Value

Dec 08, 2019