Creating a unique reading experience every month by bringing books TO LIFE!

Plans as low as $32.50 / month

Once Upon a Book Club reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Perfect Incentive to Read Even More

May 29, 2020
Mandy M.
1 Review
2 Pictures
6 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I've been an international subscriber since November 2019. I usually get the YA box, but have since purchased 1 adult box used (from another subscriber) and 2 other adult boxes new (directly from OUABC) because I saw them on FB after the fact and really wanted to get in on it. I was an avid reader before, but this book club has enhanced reading for me to a new level. All of the gifts that you open once you reach a certain point in the story are thoughtful and well-curated. I've seen other subscribers take issue with the costume jewelry, but I personal have loved them every time so far. The jewelry-type items don't come in every box and so far no items have been similar (repeated). The pictures I included show the Nov. 2019 and Dec. 2019 YA box books and gifts opened (these boxes are no longer available in the shop, so no spoilers!), so you can see the kind of things you might expect: usable items like umbrellas, wearable items like scarves and necklaces, craft-y items like the pastels, and paper items like the flyer that enhance the story by bringing an item from the text directly into your hands as if by magic. That being said, I have sometimes felt let down by the paper items and opening them is less thrilling than the other types of gifts. Lastly, I debated about giving OUABC 4 stars or 5 for shipping because the issues with shipping are...

Verified Purchase

Over All OUATBkClub

May 27, 2020
Margaret O.
1 Review
3 Pictures
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I’m 64 and my daughter convinced me to join. She gets YA and I get Adult, then we switch the books. We have our own mother/daughter book review and a journal we write it. Because of OUATBkC I have read more, different genres I never would have chosen for myself; that because of you, I found totally inspiring. During this stay at home time; regardless of shipping delays, I’m reading more. Discussing more with my daughter (whose 29) and keeping ahead of her in our reading goal for the year. Thank you for a great program, great gifts...oh if they are not for this old lady they go to my daughter! Lol thank you for something new, something bright and a wonderful adventure each box!!

Verified Purchase

Loved it

Sep 28, 2018
Marina G.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I really love once upon a book club I normally get the young adult books and sometimes the book isnt what I expect it to be and I end up loving the book anyways they pick the right moments to add a gift and get u into the book

Verified Purchase

The most wonderful gift!

Feb 26, 2019
Michele D.
18 Reviews
21 Pictures
35 Helpful Votes
Overall

I cannot say enough good things about this. I received the first box of a subscription that was gifted to me by my mother. It was a wonderful surprise... packaged in an adorable box on the outside, with lovely boxed gifts and a book inside. The book I got is SO good I am finding it very hard to put down. And the excited anticipation of opening a gift at a specified time is thrilling. I have opened two of my 4 gifts so far and the immersion in the story makes them that much more of a treasure. This has to be one of the best gifts I have ever received. As if this were not enough, the customer service is FANTASTIC!

New Dimension To Reading

May 26, 2020
Jennifer T.
1 Review
1 Picture
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I found Once Upon A Book Club last November (2019) while I was searching for a Christmas present for my sister in law (librarian). I was so intrigued I ordered one for her and myself. We both loved it! I have since ordered adult and young adult boxes and they have all been amazing. My girls (9 & 11) begged me to get them a box too. They don’t know yet ( I’m keeping it a surprise) but they both have a preordered middle grades box coming to them in June. I can’t wait to see their faces. I myself am waiting on the June you g adult box with the hint agent 355. I can’t give OUABC enough stars!

Verified Purchase

Amazing Once Upon a Book Club

May 27, 2020
Mitzi V.
1 Review
1 Picture
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love Once Upon a Book Club boxes. Each month offers a well-written book with a collection of gifts that bring the words on the pages to life. My collection is growing and I have not disliked one of the books. The stories range in topics so the reader will not get bored month after month. I even had to purchased new book shelves. I love the boxes!

Verified Purchase

A unique subscription box!

May 26, 2020
Anneliese V.
1 Review
1 Picture
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The Once Upon a Book Club boxes are so unique. I love that they curate the bookish goodies as gifts that come straight from the book. The main character opened a gift box and saw a bracelet; you get one too! It’s such a creative idea and so fun and exciting to get to open the gift when you see that “Open Your Gift” sticky note on the page. I highly recommend this subscription.

Verified Purchase

OUABC is THE BEST subscription box!

May 27, 2020
Jessica F.
1 Review
1 Picture
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 4 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I have been a subscriber since Sept 2016 - which I believe was only their 3rd month/box in business. I love this subscription box & I don't feel like there is anything like it - it truly brings books to life! I also subscribe to the YA box, which I wasn't sure at first whether I'd be into "YA" books, but I have loved them all. They also have fun one time/specialty boxes for holidays, etc. I've been with them since the beginning and have bought most of their boxes and have never been disappointed. I have also purchased subscriptions & 1 time boxes for several friends and family members and everyone has loved them! I get so excited when I see OUABC boxes in my mailbox. They truly are the BEST!! :)

Verified Purchase

First box was a success!

Aug 01, 2020
Gay B.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My first month with Once Upon a Book Club was a success. The book was a good choice. Reading till you get to the point where you open a gift was so much fun. I thought the gifts really enhanced the reading of the book. I can't wait to get my next one!

Verified Purchase

A Book Lover's Dream

May 27, 2020
Amanda B.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Love, love, love! A friend told me about this a couple of years ago and I have been hooked ever since. The book selections are always excellent and the gifts are so creative. I'm a huge fan of the special editions boxes too, especially the holiday advent box. This is my gift to me every month.

Verified Purchase

March YA box

May 26, 2020
Samantha R.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I finally splurged on the March YA box and I absolutely loved it. It's such a thrilling experience to open gifts that are relevant to the story!