Creating a unique reading experience every month by bringing books TO LIFE!

Plans as low as $32.50 / month

Book Club Box (Adult Edition) reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Over All OUATBkClub

May 27, 2020
Margaret O.
1 Review
3 Pictures
7 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 11 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I’m 64 and my daughter convinced me to join. She gets YA and I get Adult, then we switch the books. We have our own mother/daughter book review and a journal we write it. Because of OUATBkC I have read more, different genres I never would have chosen for myself; that because of you, I found totally inspiring. During this stay at home time; regardless of shipping delays, I’m reading more. Discussing more with my daughter (whose 29) and keeping ahead of her in our reading goal for the year. Thank you for a great program, great gifts...oh if they are not for this old lady they go to my daughter! Lol thank you for something new, something bright and a wonderful adventure each box!!

Verified Purchase

Amazing Once Upon a Book Club

May 27, 2020
Mitzi V.
1 Review
1 Picture
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love Once Upon a Book Club boxes. Each month offers a well-written book with a collection of gifts that bring the words on the pages to life. My collection is growing and I have not disliked one of the books. The stories range in topics so the reader will not get bored month after month. I even had to purchased new book shelves. I love the boxes!

Verified Purchase

The most wonderful gift!

Feb 26, 2019
Michele D.
21 Reviews
25 Pictures
42 Helpful Votes
Overall

I cannot say enough good things about this. I received the first box of a subscription that was gifted to me by my mother. It was a wonderful surprise... packaged in an adorable box on the outside, with lovely boxed gifts and a book inside. The book I got is SO good I am finding it very hard to put down. And the excited anticipation of opening a gift at a specified time is thrilling. I have opened two of my 4 gifts so far and the immersion in the story makes them that much more of a treasure. This has to be one of the best gifts I have ever received. As if this were not enough, the customer service is FANTASTIC!

Just ok, not worth the price.

Mar 06, 2017
Amy S.
1 Review
17 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

I purchased a 3 month subscription because I was just so excited by the concept of this box. After receiving 3 boxes now, all I can say is it is a huge disappointment. The books themselves are ok, I have read all 3 but none of them were anything that really grabbed me. The included items are often cheap/poorly made or things that I would never use (cheap costume jewelry, an old fashioned nurses apron and a pack of trident gum) . I really wanted to like this box, but it just didn't meet my expectations.

Verified Purchase

Unprofessional On Facebook

Jan 23, 2019
Jamie H.
2 Reviews
17 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I am highly disappointed in how unprofessional they were on the facebook business page. Instead of addressing the concern, they turned off the comments after stating that they only want positive comments on that page. That is sad considering any business should welcome honest feedback and address the issue in a respectful manner. I have unsubscribed and will NEVER go back. Disrespectful and rude-

Verified Purchase
Once Upon a Book Club said...Jan 24, 2019

Hi Jamie! I am so sorry if you felt that we were disrespectful or rude in our Facebook group. We are always accepting and open to all feedback anyone has regarding our boxes, however, we do ask that negative feedback not be posted on our social media publicly and instead is messaged to us privately either via email or private message on Facebook to our business page so we can best resolve the situation! I sincerely apologize if you felt that we were rude or disrespectful in anyway, and truly do appreciate your feedback regarding our boxes.

Blah

Dec 21, 2016
Cindy C.
1 Review
14 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

The idea is great. When you reach a certain number of pages, you open a gift that is related to the novel. However, it's poorly executed. The gifts are lame!! In the November box, I received a pack of gum and an instagram photo of the " character" in the novel. The rest of the other gifts were not any better. Will not be renewing unless the gifts got better.

Verified Purchase

First box was a success!

Aug 01, 2020
Gay B.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My first month with Once Upon a Book Club was a success. The book was a good choice. Reading till you get to the point where you open a gift was so much fun. I thought the gifts really enhanced the reading of the book. I can't wait to get my next one!

Verified Purchase

March YA box

May 26, 2020
Samantha R.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
1 Helpful Vote
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I finally splurged on the March YA box and I absolutely loved it. It's such a thrilling experience to open gifts that are relevant to the story!

Love It!

Aug 27, 2019
Gabriela L.
1 Review
1 Picture
1 Helpful Vote
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I absolutely love Once Upon A Book Club!! The only reason shipping has 4 stars is because I’ve noticed boxes arriving damaged but I think that is because of how packages are being handled by carrier. Thankfully, Nothing has arrived broken or damaged.The packaging of Once Upon A Book Club I love!! I get excited with every delivery!

Good books, exciting experience

Nov 28, 2019
Kaiti T.
2 Reviews
8 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 11 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Been subscribing to this for a few months now, and am always excited when the box comes. I'm an avid reader (subscribe to 4 book clubs, and read ~ 6 per month). The books are generally decent - I like that it exposes me to good books and writers I would not generally pick out myself. I like that most of them come with a signed bookplate, but would love it if the books themselves were signed, as other subscriptions do.
The quality of the items are hit and miss. I love the mugs (with quotes from the books) that have been included and adore the quote cards, when they're included. Much of the items are lower quality than i would purchase for myself, but that's to be expected to keep the subscription costs manageable. I have gotten good use from some of the smaller items (cooling cloths, pens, spoons, charging cables, etc). The jewelry items and journal have been a miss - generally cheap to mid quality, and not to personal taste (though generally consistent with the book). I would love to see more things like mugs/glass cups, candles, etc incorporated in when applicable to the story.
The customer service is great! There was an occasion where my box seemed to be missing an item. I emailed them what was included, and they confirmed an item was missing and sent the item.
Overall, I love the interactive experience and well thought out items this subscription provides,...

Verified Purchase

The wait not worth it.

Sep 08, 2020
Eileen S.
1 Review
6 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 26 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I am so disappointed in the box that I received. The gifts are cheap and useless. I would be embarrassed to gift anyone with them. As a thank you for my patience in waiting for this box, I received some stickers (wow). Book is okay. Complete failure.

Verified Purchase

Don't bother

Jul 14, 2020
Amy R.
1 Review
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Never received my first box and I doubt I'll receive my second. When I contacted them via email, they said there was no account under my email even though I paid through Crate Joy. It pisses me off because I was really excited and looking forward to this box. :(

Verified Purchase
Once Upon a Book Club said...Jul 15, 2020

Hi Amy! Thanks so much for your review! We are definitely working to resolve this issue with you privately, but please do let us know your shipping address so we can try to locate your account that way, as we truly are not finding the email address you provided us in our system. I do apologize about that but are looking forward to helping you to locate your order and see what's going on with it!

No update.... VERY LATE & NO RESPONSE

May 04, 2020
Meg M.
1 Review
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Curation

Contrary to what your website says, I am beyond unhappy that the order I placed on APRIL 12 will not be delivered.... YOUR WEBSITE STATES ALL ORDERS MADE BEFORE THE 12th of the month will be delivered On the 17-20th of the SAME MONTH. This is inexcusable to me, as this was a gift for my newly widowed mother. Your response and refund will not replace her gift.
Margaret Seymour

Verified Purchase
Once Upon a Book Club said...May 04, 2020

Hi Meg! Thank you so much for your feedback of our boxes. We sold out of our April boxes on April 2nd. We're seeing your order was placed on April 12th which means this was for our May box, shipping at the end of May. This information was mentioned in the email receipt you received to confirm your order; we apologize if that was missed! We've gone ahead and fully refunded your order as it will not arrive in time for Mother's Day. We hope you'll give us another try in the future! - The Once Upon a Book Club Team

Wont let me cancel

May 25, 2020
Erika M.
1 Review
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

They won't let me cancel my subscription. They are charging me for next month before my box even arrived.

Verified Purchase
Once Upon a Book Club said...May 25, 2020

Hi Erika! We're so sorry that you haven't been able to cancel your subscription with us. You're welcome to email us anytime and our team will get back to you to to help within 48 business hours to get this resolved for you! Thank you so much!

Not worth it for me

Aug 19, 2020
Carol L.
1 Review
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping