Solve a murder mystery using the items inside a mysterious package delivered to your door.

Plans as low as $33.00 / month

Murder Mystery in a Box reviewsReviews

Write a Review

I love a good mystery experience!

Jul 16, 2018
Claudia S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 months
Overall

I love puzzles, figuring people out and their motivations, and reading between the lines. I stopped going to movies long ago because I could always figure out the plot and what was going on etc., so it became boring for me.
Then I ran across Mystery Experiences Company and OMG, I've had to start using my brain again! No longer is it something where I can glance at it and go "oh so-n-so did it and here's why", now I have to actually dig and think and research, and rethink things and sometimes, I hate to admit, I cannot figure it out (ok so then I cheat and see what the solution is).
I love this. I am keeping my brain active, thinking things thru, not just taking at face value, looking at deeper meanings, for connections, obscure seemingly throw-away articles in the paper.
I just have to say Thank You for making this such an enjoyable experience. I love it so much and am so glad I stumbled across your website last year. I now lurk on the various FB pages and read people comments and find myself nodding in agreement with them or even going OMG I never thought of that!
Keep up the great work, I am so looking forward to next month's mystery.

Verified Purchase

It doesn’t get any better than this!!

Apr 09, 2018
Jennifer O.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

I have tried many different mystery boxes and very few come close to The Mystery Experience Company! Each month’s mystery is a stand-alone, but also contributes to the Meta-Mystery. It is masterful! An entire town has been created to support these mysteries. The artifacts are amazing! The mysteries vary from historical to scientific to forensics which prevents boredom. The online support from both the owners/creators and fellow Forrest City residents is beyond helpful. Bottom line: words cannot capture these boxes, you MUST experience them for yourself! I promise you, you can’t go wrong!!

Verified Purchase

Engaging, Challenging and Very, Very Fun

Nov 03, 2016
Nicole P.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

The Mystery Experiences Company box is exactly that- a mystery and an experience!
The Mystery-
You never really know what you’ll find in the box. So far I have found FBI evidence logs, email transcripts, taunts and letters from a serial killer and the bone of an angel. The box includes a FULL mystery; the back story, the profiles of those involved and directives on how to engage with the material.
The Experience-
You step into the world of Forrest City and engage people through emails, phone calls, Facebook profiles, websites, and processing evidence, collecting alibis or putting together timelines. There is an element of role play because you are an integral part of the Forrest City community becoming intimately acquainted with the investigators, suspects, and victims. So far I’ve “met” models, priests, FBI agents, freaky clowns, and professors- just to name a few.
I have just completed my 3rd mystery and am looking forward to the next. I read a negative review that stated the puzzles were illogical. They are complicated and it can be frustrating, but I don’t think I would enjoy something I could solve in a matter of hours. I enjoy the process. Plus if you get stumped and need a hint or clue there is a way to find out only what you need/want without ruining the mystery.
If you’re on the fence, give it a try- you will NOT be disappointed!

Verified Purchase

Amazing & fun!

Apr 09, 2018
Kimberly S.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall

Great way to spend your time if you are a Mystery lover &/like to solve puzzles and eliminate suspects using deductive reasoning skills

Verified Purchase

LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!!!

Apr 09, 2018
Kelley G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

I started getting these boxes for over a year and a half and I still watch the mail each month for the new arrival. This is just as fun as an escape room but I get a new one monthly! I turned 3 friends on already to subscribe and they can;t get enough. HIGHLY recommend!!!!!

Verified Purchase

Enthralling..addictive

Apr 09, 2018
Monica R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

Didnt know what to expect. Superceded expectations. Challenging. Great brain exercise. One mystery box...better than my other subscription since it takes 6 boxes / months to be able to solve it.
Mystery Exp does have an optional meta-mystery since their mysteries are all from same town. While there is no redundacy there is continuity. In addition, while this may sound trite, the tangible clues, newspapers, evidence documents, etc are of higher caliber with Mystery Exp.

Verified Purchase

The Most Fun You Can Find in a Bo

Apr 10, 2018
Katherine C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

Mystery Experiences are more fun than I ever imagined they could be. They are meticulously detailed, and filled with historical facts and fiction that keep it entertaining and challenging. If you enjoy solving puzzles and delving into well-crafted mysteries, then jump into the world of Forrest City, with its unusual and frightening past, it’s quirky but likable residents, and it’s local businesses that become so real and familiar, you will be tempted to pop in for a slice of key lime pie. Mystery Experience are fun and interesting and challenging to solve. Beyond that, they offer a wonderful world you can escape into for hours or days at a time.

Verified Purchase

Love this subscription!!!

Apr 09, 2018
Ted C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

I've been solving these mysteries for over a year now, and it's the best money spent in my budget. I get some friends together for a potluck dinner and solve the newest mystery. There's also a bigger mystery that connects each monthly story, which is fun to watch unfold. The FB group is amazingly supportive, and point you in the right direction if you're stuck. Sometimes our group solves the mystery easily, and we've been dead wrong a couple of times, but either way we have so much fun. Puzzles, codes, red herrings, rumors, odd clues....I love this company and anxiously await my shipment each month!

Verified Purchase

So glad I found this company!

Apr 10, 2018
Harmony S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

I’ve received three boxes now and am eagerly anticipating the fourth. I’m very impressed by the level of detail and thought that goes into each box. The mysteries are unique and interesting, but center in a common town with recurring characters, which tie them all together and make things more fun. The puzzles in each box are diverse and varry in their level of challenge. I highly recommend this company to anyone who enjoys a good mystery.

Verified Purchase

Highly recommended!

Apr 09, 2018
Linda P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

I've been a member of the Forrest City community since Sept 2016 and have no intent to leave. Each month is different from the next, with new challenges and puzzles, which require a variety of sleuthing methods to solve. Each mystery tells an intriguing story, and while not required, you can pursue the overarching 'metamystery'. I solve mysteries on my own, but also sometimes with my adolescent nieces, depending on the difficulty. Highly recommended for mystery-puzzle-game lovers!

Verified Purchase

Welcome to Forrest City

Apr 09, 2018
Karen S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

I've been receiving these mysteries for more than a year now and have yet to be disappointed (well, there was the lollipop incident ;-)
Mysteries range across the globe, time and difficulty level. But not to worry, because there is also a wonderful FB community that will help if you have problems solving a puzzle.

Verified Purchase

Worth the money, every box is delightful

Apr 09, 2018
Julia S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall

I LOVE this company. The mysteries are well thought-out and include many puzzles, websites, telephone numbers, deductive reasoning. They also contain really quality pieces of pictures and artwork. I love that the theme spans a number of different areas. I have recommended this company to many and will continue to.

Verified Purchase

Great night of fun with the family

Apr 10, 2018
Alan B.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

My family and I look forward to the latest mystery from the Mystery Experiences Company each month. My wife and I play with our teenage children. It is a great way to spend quality time together. Some puzzles are more difficult than others but you can receive help through the Facebook community. The mysteries are well worth the money!

Verified Purchase

Highly Recommend

Jul 02, 2016
Diane M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

It is obvious that a lot of work and tlc goes into each monthly mystery. They keep it fresh and exciting every month. Highly recommend.

Verified Purchase

Awesome experiences!

Apr 09, 2018
Kristina K.
9 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

The amount of detail and time that goes into these is incredible! The level of challenge varies significantly from box to box, and the types of puzzles vary widely as well! Everything from elimination/logic puzzles, to very advanced cryptology. When/if you get stuck, there is an amazing community that is very interactive with providing suggestions and hints. The company usually also provides a resource for hints. These are great for individual fun, or with a group! For those that stick around for multiple mysteries, you'll start to discover ties and connections, leading to an overarching meta mystery!

Verified Purchase

Great Fun!

Apr 13, 2018
Joanne R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall

I love the Mystery Experiences Company. Their mysteries are fun, exciting and entertaining. And most important to me - solvable.

Verified Purchase

Amazing

Apr 10, 2018
Kelly C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall

I tell everyone I know about Mystery Experiences Company! I look forward to receiving my box, every month and my husband recently joined in on the fun. They do an amazing job of wisking me away to a whole other world.

Verified Purchase

A Mysterious Hobby!

Apr 09, 2018
Brent P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

I was introduced to this subscription box in the Fall of 2016...I took my first steps into Forrest City and I don't ever plan to leave!
First, what this is not...It is not an RPG, a true-crime series, a horror mystery, science fiction stories, or a puzzle box...yet it is also all of the above!
These monthly mysteries take place in the mysterious, vaguely placed, Forrest City. This is a city that has seen inhabitants and mysterious since the original French fur trappers arrived in the 1600s and has only gotten stranger, more beautiful, and more deadly!
Each month you, as a resident of this city, receives a mysterious box as different forces in the city attempt to use you to solve crimes, uncover mysteries, and solve puzzles.
Each month is a self-contained story that is solvable with the contents of the box, and any websites, phone-numbers, or emails that you discover.
There are also over-arching mysteries (the meta-mystery) that delve into the history of the city and its denizens that really bring it to life. This is the part the brings me most into the game, as each month unlocks more knowledge, more ideas, and more speculation for me to add to my notebooks, murder-boards, and database!
You should be able to solve a box in anywhere from 1-4 hours in a small group, or 3-5 hours by yourself (depending on how quickly you use the internet to solve ciphers and puzzles versus decoding them...

Verified Purchase

Best Mystery Box Ever!

Apr 21, 2018
Nicole P.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

This company puts together immersive mysteries every month with newspapers, clues, interactive websites, emails, FB pages and characters you care about. Each mystery is stand alone but in a shared universe so while you can join anytime the longer you subscribe the more you learn about Forrest City.
I HIGHLY recommend this box to E V E R Y O N E I talk too.

Verified Purchase

Best Subscription Ever

Apr 09, 2018
Leah H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

These mysteries are my favorite subscription, hands down. I would recommend them to anyone who enjoys mysteries of any sort. There is something for everyone here.

Verified Purchase

Great fun with friends or family

Apr 09, 2018
Michael G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

A rich back story about the town and its inhabitants. Each box is a stand alone mystery with puzzles and ciphers of varying degrees of difficulty. Each box reveals more about the sinister happenings in Forrest City. There is also a great community of subscribers that share hints and tips, as well as discuss the towns darker side.

Verified Purchase

Money well spent

Apr 09, 2018
Elizabeth L.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

I have been getting this subscription since mid 2016, and I love it. It's the closest you will ever get to feeling like you are in one of the mystery novels I love so much. Each mystery is a stand alone, and you do not need prior knowledge of the complete universe to enjoy it. But, each mystery also gives you clues to a bigger, over arching mystery as well. And every mystery leads you deeper into Forrest City. You will get to know major characters who are featured repeatedly and follow their stories. I have also made some awesome friends on the Facebook group page. You will feel like a real mystery detective!

Verified Purchase

Worth every penny

Apr 09, 2018
Rachel W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

I have been a member for two years and love this box. If you love puzzles and have always wanted to be a detective this is the box for you. I can not recommend it highly enough. You won’t be disappointed.

Verified Purchase

Worth the money!

Apr 09, 2018
Denize E.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

I have been a member for more than a year, and still get excited when I receive my boxes! I am proud to say that I am a member of the Forest City community. The mysteries are a blast, each one taking through different twist and turns. Our fellow members are more than willing to help you when you need a nudge in the right direction. THE MYSTERY EXPERIENCE COMPANY ROCKS!

Verified Purchase

Look forward to my box every month

Apr 10, 2018
Roy M.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I love LOVE this company so much. Every month is another exciting adventure. It makes me feel like a "real life" detective!!

Verified Purchase
Buying Options