Gaming Guru (Monthly)

Gaming Guru (Monthly)

by UnboxBoardom
No phones. No TVs. All fun! Unplug & play on with this premium subscription board game service.

Plans as low as

$29.99/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (58)

  1. Reviews for this product (57)
  2. Reviews for this seller (1)

Easy and fun but tough on the bifocals

Apr 20, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Robin B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 28 days

The only thing I didn’t like is the map was huge and the tiniest details really make the game. Not good if your at that stage of life that requires bifocal’s. The magnifying glass included was useful but needed to be bigger.
Once you get the hang of the game each can be solved in about 15-20 minutes which keeps the interest of the easily distracted.
Hanging the map on the wall works best but you need to have good light to see the details to solve the case.

Verified Purchase
UnboxBoardom said...Apr 20, 2022

Thanks for the feedback Robin! We appreciate the insight!

Monthly subscription box

Feb 22, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Christine S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

Loved getting games each month this winter! It gave my husband and I something to look forward to and it was fun trying out new games we wouldn’t typically pick out!! Great customer service as well!

Verified Purchase
UnboxBoardom said...Feb 22, 2022

Thanks for the kind words Christine! We are glad you and your husband enjoyed it!

I got bamboozled.

Mar 15, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Shakea R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

Very underwhelmed. In the video here it shows getting a game and extra little things, as a usual subscription box. Ordered my first box way before shipping date and thought I would get the last box available at least. Nope, had to wait about a month to get the new subscription. And all I got was a game. Kinda disappointed in the game options. 2 games I wasn't interested in at all. The last game option seems like it will be interesting, but it also appears like a 3 times to play game. Not a game you can repeat months later or on a regular basis. Very very underwhelmed. 2 more months to go though as I purchased a 3 month subscription. I feel like I could have went out and bought the game I was shipped for less than the price of the monthly subscription as I only received a boardgame in a box with paper cushion. I don't feel like I'm getting my money's worth and wasted my excitement waiting, especially a long time waiting just to get a board game.

Verified Purchase
UnboxBoardom said...Mar 15, 2022

Hi Shakea -- We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your box this month. All of our subscriptions begin in the month after you sign-up (ie. if you signed up in February, you receive your first game in March). However, we never want you to receive a game you're not excited about. Please use the "Contact Seller" button so we can better understand your concerns and work with you to make the remaining games a better experience.

New subscription - Off to a great start!

Dec 29, 2021
Overall
Richard M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 26 days

My wife and I have reached a point where during the winter months we hang close to the house. We are also realizing that tv can only be so entertaining. We picked up a game "Sequence" thinking we'd play once or twice a month as a break from the tv, what we found is that 2 or 3 times a week we were playing. This led to a Christmas gift idea and UnboxBoardom was a perfect fit. The first game won't arrive until January but I have contacted their service group 2 or 3 times regarding the subscription settings and how best to communicate the gift to my wife. Each time they responded extremely quickly and were very friendly with their communication. I have no doubts that if a question ever comes up they will continue to provide outstanding service.
If you're considering a subscription, go for it. Great people and I'm sure the games will be fantastic as well.

Verified Purchase
UnboxBoardom said...Dec 30, 2021

Thanks so much for the kind words Richard! We're happy we were able to help excited to get you started!

Happy Customers!

Sep 17, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Emilie L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

My and my partner are HUGE board game nerds! This subscription has been a really great addition to our many board game date nights. The sellers were very prompt in responding to my questions. Good shipping quality and very positive experience!

Verified Purchase
UnboxBoardom said...Sep 17, 2021

Hi Emilie, we're so happy to hear we have been able to help with date nights and have been enjoying your subscription!

Prompt delivery

Sep 16, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Emily R.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 23 days

Our first game arrived in prompt time. Looks like a fun complex game for our family. I might renew after we try this game out for a while.

Verified Purchase

Excellent Curated Selection

Jul 25, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Susan S.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 year

Excellent selection of games! Everything from fast, fun family games to award-winning Eurogames. There's always something I want in each mth's choices--sometimes it's hard to decide! Probably about 30-50% of the time they offer a game that's actually on my wishlist! Really enjoy this subscription❤👍

Verified Purchase
UnboxBoardom said...Jul 27, 2021

Thank you for the kind words! We are glad you have enjoyed the games!

Family game night is back

Jun 24, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Nichole E.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

Perfect for our family of four. Game was not too easy, not too hard for all players. Challenging and fun. The surprise is the best part. Nice to come home to a cool new game on the table and reinstate family game night after too many nights of Netflix binging!

Verified Purchase
UnboxBoardom said...Jun 24, 2021

Thank you so much for the kind words Nichole! We are glad you are enjoying the service!

Complicated Game

Aug 20, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Leila J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

The game was way too complicated. I am not sure if I just picked wrong but we want games with simpler rules, easy to start playing.

Verified Purchase
UnboxBoardom said...Aug 23, 2021

Hi Leila,
We are sorry to hear the game was too complicated for you! We try to feature games that are appealing to a wide range of gamers. If in a given month none of the games appeal to you, if you reach out to us we are happy to work with you to provide an alternative or push your subscription back a month! We will also put a note on the account that you prefer simpler games. Please let us know if you have any questions!

Bad website, Rude customer service

Aug 16, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Lucas L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years

I love the games and the idea but they're website doesn't work correctly. When you send in a message about it they are SUPER condescending. I have moved twice during my Subscription and they have messed it up both times. I even send them pictures of the change of shipping address on their website and how it was done a month before the shipment. was told. "we sent it to the latest address on file, this is not our fault"
I dont mind that Ive been sent multiple of the same game on the random subscription. But I hate getting blamed because their website does not update correctly.

Verified Purchase
UnboxBoardom said...Aug 17, 2021

Hi Luke, we are sorry to hear you had an issue with our service. We will look into the address change with our website provider and see if we can find the source of the problem. In the meantime, someone from our team will reach out to you and get the correct address sorted out and the package delivered to you. We are so sorry you have had delivery errors and will get it corrected.

Fun monthly subscription

Jun 19, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Carrie H.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 9 months

Fun to get new games!

Verified Purchase
UnboxBoardom said...Jun 21, 2021

We're glad to hear you are enjoying the new games!

Great Games, Great Times

Mar 22, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Marina R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months

A fantastic subscription for any board game fan! It's an excellent service to cater to new collectors and seasoned players alike. Each month offers a great selection of games ranging in style, complexity, and number of players. It's been wonderful finding new unique games I might never have come across otherwise as well as seeing classics that offer hours of fun with friends and family (or solo play) that I'm very thankful for. Highly recommend you support this awesome company and snag a subscription for yourself or anyone who loves great games.

Verified Purchase
UnboxBoardom said...Mar 22, 2021

Thank you so much for the very kind words -- we really do appreciate it! We are so happy you have enjoyed the service!

No boredom here!

Feb 01, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Louise H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

I've sent a year's worth of games to my daughter's family --and each one has been unique, fun, challenging, and just right for this game-crazy group! The service, quality, and diversity have been incredible, and I can't recommend this company highly enough!

Verified Purchase
UnboxBoardom said...Feb 01, 2021

Thank you so much Louise! So happy your daughter's family has enjoyed it!

Nice game!

Jan 26, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jack D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 months

Nice, fun family game. Can't wait for the next one.

Verified Purchase
UnboxBoardom said...Jan 26, 2021

So glad to hear you enjoyed!

Mostly good but never got an email

Jan 22, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Stephen L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 months

The game we got was fine but when I signed up for the program it said I would get an email every month to choose the game we received. I never received any email but a game just showed up. I think it is a great idea but would like to have some options.

Verified Purchase
UnboxBoardom said...Jan 22, 2021

Hi Stephen -- We are glad to hear you enjoyed the game, but are concerned you didn't get the game selection email. We sent the email to your email address on file and did not receive any delivery issues. Additionally, we sent a game selection email reminder on the 5th. Please check your spam/promotions folder, sometimes we accidentally end up there 😩! If that's where we're hiding, add us to your safe-senders list so you get future emails! If you don't receive an email on the 1st of next month, please let us know and we'll have it resent directly to you. Additionally, if you'd like us to send the emails to an alternative address please let us know and we'd be happy to update...

good condition

Jul 22, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Elise H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months

I loved the speediness of my crates arrival and the game arrived in good condition. My first game however was a roll and write game and I'm not typically a fan of those. I hope my next game will appeal a bit more to my taste or I might need to change my subscription from surprise to let me choose..but I like being surprised lol

Verified Purchase
UnboxBoardom said...Jul 22, 2020

Hi Elise -- we are sorry to hear roll & writes are not your favorite style of game. Can you please provide us more about your preferred tastes and we will try to choose one that align better with your preferences? Alternatively, if you would like to switch so you to choose the games each month please let us know and we'd be happy to update your account for you!

Best Subscription Box

Apr 15, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jess K.
1 Review
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

We have gotten two games so far and both have been great. My son (14) is an avid board game collector and both games have been hits. The shipping has been very fast. We just got Cytosis last week and have already played it several times. Fun game. Can't wait to see what our next game will be.

Verified Purchase
UnboxBoardom said...Apr 15, 2020

Thank you for your kind words Jess! We're glad to hear your son has loved the games!

Sadly disappointed

Jul 13, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Cindy B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

Waited awhile to receive a box to give my husband for father day. Spent around 55$ thinking I’d receive multiple games. But instead received one 20$ game. Sadly disappointed.

Verified Purchase
UnboxBoardom said...Jul 13, 2020

Hi Cindy,
We are so sorry to hear you were disappointed with your box. For our boxes you receive one featured game each month, and the boxes begin in the month following the month you sign up. We apologize if there was any confusion on the onset of the subscription.

Great selection of games

Apr 15, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Caitlin G.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 years

I've been a member for several months now and every game has been great. There is such a variety of games, and this box gives suggestions I might not have picked or even found at the store. Since you can pick between 3 games each month, there is always an option that fits the types of games I enjoy. I tell people about this box all the time because it's the best way to get new and unique games.

Verified Purchase
UnboxBoardom said...Apr 15, 2020

Thanks for the kind words Caitlin! We're so happy to hear you have been loving it!

Unbox Boardom

Apr 20, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kobra D.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 10 months

Great game selection!

Verified Purchase
UnboxBoardom said...Apr 20, 2020

Glad you enjoyed the options!

Loot Island

Apr 15, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Alexis D.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

Game was a bit hard to understand at first but got better after watching a YouTube on it.

Verified Purchase

Very happy so far

Apr 25, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Bambi Y.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

Great games. Great quality

Verified Purchase
UnboxBoardom said...Apr 25, 2020

Thank you! Glad to hear you've enjoyed them!

Great game!

Feb 15, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Page C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years

Love this game!! It was so much fun to play and so totally different than the usual games in the store. The only complaint we had was with the directions. We had so many questions and couldn't find the answers so we just made up our own rules.

Verified Purchase
UnboxBoardom said...Feb 17, 2020

We're so glad to hear you love it! Try looking up the game on BoardGameGeek, which contains videos, posts, etc. about the game which may help answer some of your questions!

Good initial introductory game

Jan 23, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Troy W.
1 Review

This isn’t a game i would have chosen for myself, but I really enjoyed it and plan to introduce others to it soon. I thought the instructions were a bit wordy and didn’t flow as simply as they could, but once I understood them the game is pretty simple to set up and play.

great product

Jan 22, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Nicholas P.
1 Review

we ordered the box December 9th and It arrived January 19 so the shipping wasn't to bad. The game is awesome. My 7 year old son wanted us to play it everyday every other hour all weekend long.


Customers who bought this also bought...