Escape the Crate

by Escape the Crate
A bi-monthly "Escape Room" subscription box... full of puzzles and mysteries to solve!
405 reviews

Plans as low as

$26.50/ box

Buying Options

Escape the Crate reviewsReviews

Write a Review
405

3 hours of fun

Mar 16, 2019
Amy A.
1 Review
1 Picture
17 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

If you want to have a great activity to do where you solve puzzles and work together - this is really a lot of fun. We started out planning to do it within an hour - two adults and 3 teens. We chose expert level because we think we are really smart. 3 hours later we solved it. You can definitely do this in under an hour because there are hints all along the way so you don’t have to ever stay stuck. This was such fun. We can’t wait for our next crate!!!

Verified Purchase

Escaped!

Mar 03, 2019
Rahayu J.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
13 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

My husband and I decided to subscribe to Escape The Crate. We received the Murder in The Forgotten Tomb and we escaped within 2 hours 20 minutes (it’s definitely not impressive! 🤣) but we sure had lots of fun with the puzzles and codes. We love going to escape rooms and this crate gave us the same experience as of those physical ones. Can’t wait for the next one! Highly recommended!

Verified Purchase

Well worth it.

Jan 16, 2021
Jill S.
1 Review
3 Pictures
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Quality

Our first box arrived this week. Ordered it about a week before Christmas. Had no idea what to expect as non of us have been to an Escape Room. We did the first mission. It was great. A little much for our 11 year old. But now that we have done one we can find ways to incorporate her - playing the videos, entering the answers, reading the cards. Can’t wait to do the next challenge.

Verified Purchase

Fun and Impressive

Mar 15, 2021
Amy L.
1 Review
2 Pictures
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My brother gave the double subscription box to me for Christmas, and my Roommate and I had so much fun solving the puzzles. We spread the three chapters out over a couple of weekends but picking back up where we left off was easy. I’m very impressed by the detail of the puzzles, every inch of the box it came in was used for clues, the combination of the online portion and the physical clues was seamless. All around impressed. Ice Age Park just arrived and I’m very much looking forward to this next challenge.

Rock-n-Roll Spy -- What fun!

Feb 23, 2021
David W.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

What fun! My wife and I really enjoyed Rock-n-Roll Spy! The puzzles WERE a bit challenging (hints were helpful), but the story was great and was a super fun experience!

Verified Purchase

Honestly, incredible fun

Feb 14, 2021
Liberty S.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The value for money in each of these adventures, as well as the thought, creativity, and immersion that Escape the Crate infuses into them is un-paralleled. I've tried a few escape room options during COVID and this is far and away the best. Each box becomes more interesting and more action-packed, often with multiple adventures/rounds of play per box. There's also a real effort to limit waste in their setup and props, while still creating interesting artifacts to handle and enjoy. I've been spirited away multiple times by Escape the Crate over the last few months and I'm incredibly grateful for it. My fiancé and I love everything about their approach and appreciate the ability to get away while staying home. Three crates in and counting...

Verified Purchase

The Excitement of an Escape Room At Home

Feb 12, 2021
Rachelle C.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I purchased this subscription box as a date night for my husband and I and we are absolutely LOVING it! I chose this box because we wanted something that we could do at home (since COVID limits out of the house opportunities), it is cost-effective, and it includes everything you need in one box! My husband was wanting do an escape room so badly and this has been a wonderful way to make that happen while staying cozy at home. We are really enjoying this new multi-chapter aspect of the more recent boxes so we can stretch out the story into multiple date nights. The minimal packaging is a big bonus, however, I don't love that the box is exposed since it is often delivered to our doorstep instead of the mailbox. Overall, I highly recommend subscribing to Escape-the-Crate! I tell my friends and co-workers about it as often as possible because it is SO worth it!

Verified Purchase

Fun challenge!

7 days ago
Rachel E.
1 Review
1 Picture
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We had such a fun time solving the mystery. It was very challenging and interactive.

Highly recommend

2 days ago
Cathy B.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My husband and I really enjoyed playing each of the three boxes we've received since subscribing. Each was shipped and received as expected in good condition with all components. The quality of the product is excellent as is the artwork. The curation is intelligent and fun. We find the puzzles challenging enough without being frustrating. There are adequate hints if needed. Currently we are working on the Camelot issue. My husband and I are both senior citizens so we appreciate not having to use the timer and can take frequent nap....err breaks when needed. Our adult son and daughter-in-law receive their own subscription boxes and enjoy the challenge of the timer.

Verified Purchase

Date Night Fun

May 22, 2021
Laura R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Wonderful date night activity. We have yet to be disappointed by these amazing mystery crates.

Verified Purchase

Perfect Puzzles

May 19, 2021
James T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We started doing these boxes during quarantine, and it's been one of the brightest spots of the last year. Great boxes, fun puzzles, awesome themes. Highly recommend!

Verified Purchase

Fun for the family

May 16, 2021
Stacey B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Got an annual subscription for my 13-year old who loves escape rooms, and have been so impressed by the quality and thought put into each of the boxes. The puzzles are the perfect level of difficulty for our family to where our 6-year old can also play along and feel like she's contributing, but it's not eye-rollingly easy, or so convoluted that there would be no way to figure it out without a hint, which has been the case with some store-bought escape room games we have tried. We usually don't time ourselves as we are just playing for fun, but I would say each box gives at least 2 hours of playing time, and no one loses interest along the way (even the 6-year old). I also love the fact that the games can be re-played again later as nothing is usually damaged (or if it is, you can print new copies). Once we have played, we often pass the box on to our neighbors so they can play too. Highly recommend, and we will likely renew our annual subscription again this Christmas to continue the family fun time!

Verified Purchase

Newly joined and happily surprised

May 15, 2021
Jenny S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We have had experience with other subscription escape rooms and this was hand down the best. We can’t wait for our next one to arrive!

Verified Purchase

Fun!!

May 15, 2021
Heather N.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My family had a ball with Ice Age & the Speakeasy crates. Can't wait for more!

Verified Purchase

Family fun

May 15, 2021
Erin P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Great fun for the family!

Verified Purchase

So much fun

May 15, 2021
Lisa J.
2 Reviews
2 Pictures
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We love these Escape Room!!!

Verified Purchase

Great customer service

Apr 13, 2021
Lyndsay G.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I purchased this as a gift and the recipient never received the second box because I got lost in shipping somewhere. However, the company promptly rectified the problem and sent out a new box! Couldn't be happier with the product and the customer service ☺️

Verified Purchase
Escape the Crate said...Apr 14, 2021

Hello! Please contact us at "support at escapethecrategame dot com” and we will look into it for you!

Perfect Night In

Apr 18, 2021
Kristine B.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I bought a subscription as a Christmas gift for my husband in 2019....we have been renewing and buying old missions ever since! So well thought out, put together game, that never disappoints! I highly recommend this for all puzzle solvers. We never time ourselves and try our best not to use the hints! Escape the Crate is truly a great subscription!!

Verified Purchase

Really unique game

Apr 18, 2021
Monica D.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 15 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

It took me about 3 hours by myself to solve and it is so much better than watching TV. I already signed up for the 1 year subsciption.

Verified Purchase

New Favorite Date Night

Apr 18, 2021
Alexandra F.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 23 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I'm officially obsessed with Escape the Crate! The box and materials are beautiful and well made, the puzzles are challenging but attainable. I really enjoy the website integration, with audio clips, videos, and passwords progressing the puzzles. There are hints each webpage should you need it. This has become a great new date-night activity!

Verified Purchase

Super fun!

Apr 17, 2021
Cory C.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Super fun! Highly recommend. Played by myself first, as I was so excited. Chose to do the untimed version and was able to pause and come back several times. Will definitely continue.

Verified Purchase

My Favorite Subscription Box

Nov 14, 2019
Caitlinjosey
1 Review
11 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I should have done this review a long time ago, but sadly I am a very forgetful person (great for replaying games like this, not so much for remembering to do a review). I have subscribed to ETC from almost the beginning, and went back to buy the first two boxes I missed to ensure I had the whole collection. As of this posting, I have played every one, but the Mothman (its to my right, taunting me, but I have to wait until I am with my mom for Thanksgiving, or she'd never forgive me).
First, and most important, if you like puzzles, escape rooms, challenges, creativity etc, this is the box for you.
I have always had an obsession with all the above to the point where I have completed every Escape Room in my city (mid-size so about 20 at this point) and this box has all the fun, and challenge, without the running around and pressure of time (unless you put the pressure on yourself or run to get another drink). So I apologize for the lengthy review but its something I would be picky about, so here goes:
Storyline - Each box is a standalone mission, you can pick up in the middle and be fine. They do tie into each other in a lose way so you "feel" a timeline, but in no means do you need a previous or future box to complete the mission. All the storylines are from different periods in history,...

Verified Purchase

Fun and Challenging

Apr 29, 2021
Rachel A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We purchased a year's subscription of these boxes for my brother and sister-in-law as they are big escape room fans. We did the second box they received (the time traveling zoo one I believe) with them. For us, the first section was actually more challenging than the first, but I definitely didn't feel like they were too easy. There were times we needed those hints! It is a lot of back and forth between the computer and the crate, so be prepared to do this with a computer nearby. We had a lot of fun and I was impressed by the different items in the crate and how they were used. If you wanted to reuse the box, you would definitely have to print out new sheets as some of the items we marked up or ripped while we were playing. But it is possible to pass on to a friend if you wanted. Would for sure consider purchasing this again, either as a gift or for fun game nights.

Verified Purchase

Fun Quality Time For Couples

Apr 27, 2021
Matthew B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Have been doing these for a couple of years now. Allows for fun quality time with my wife. We absolutely love having a glass of wine and taking on these challenging escape boxes. Would highly recommend.

Verified Purchase

WONDERFUL!

Apr 25, 2021
Dalton R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Good fun with friends, very cleverly made, can't wait for the next one!

Verified Purchase