Escape the Crate: An Escape Room Adventure shipped straight to your door.

by Escape the Crate
A bi-monthly "Escape Room" subscription box... full of puzzles and mysteries to solve!

Plans as low as

$26.50/ box

Buying Options

Reviews (605)

3 hours of fun

Mar 16, 2019
Overall
Amy A.
1 Review
1 Picture
20 Helpful
Subscribed for 8 months

If you want to have a great activity to do where you solve puzzles and work together - this is really a lot of fun. We started out planning to do it within an hour - two adults and 3 teens. We chose expert level because we think we are really smart. 3 hours later we solved it. You can definitely do this in under an hour because there are hints all along the way so you don’t have to ever stay stuck. This was such fun. We can’t wait for our next crate!!!

Verified Purchase

Escaped!

Mar 03, 2019
Overall
Rahayu J.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
15 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

My husband and I decided to subscribe to Escape The Crate. We received the Murder in The Forgotten Tomb and we escaped within 2 hours 20 minutes (it’s definitely not impressive! 🤣) but we sure had lots of fun with the puzzles and codes. We love going to escape rooms and this crate gave us the same experience as of those physical ones. Can’t wait for the next one! Highly recommended!

Verified Purchase

Well worth it.

Jan 16, 2021
Overall
Quality
Jill S.
1 Review
3 Pictures
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

Our first box arrived this week. Ordered it about a week before Christmas. Had no idea what to expect as non of us have been to an Escape Room. We did the first mission. It was great. A little much for our 11 year old. But now that we have done one we can find ways to incorporate her - playing the videos, entering the answers, reading the cards. Can’t wait to do the next challenge.

Verified Purchase

Lots of fun

Nov 26, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jennifer G.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 8 months

Subscribed for 1 year this month.
We like doing these boxes as a stay-at-home date night. Sometimes we complete it all at once, sometimes taking a couple evenings to complete.
They're fun to play. We like that the types of puzzles vary, and the story lines are fun. The audio on the site to tell the story is easy to use and we like listening, it makes it easy to play and follow along. Love the small details, like historical information in some boxes, and the well thought out clues and puzzles for each box including images, fun character voices, and videos.
The 2 month cadence is good. We've also ordered a couple retired boxes to play in addition to our subscription.
We've never had a late delivery or issue with the box or site.
Thanks for putting together a great product with fun puzzles and stories!

Verified Purchase

Fun and Impressive

Mar 15, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Amy L.
1 Review
2 Pictures
1 Helpful

My brother gave the double subscription box to me for Christmas, and my Roommate and I had so much fun solving the puzzles. We spread the three chapters out over a couple of weekends but picking back up where we left off was easy. I’m very impressed by the detail of the puzzles, every inch of the box it came in was used for clues, the combination of the online portion and the physical clues was seamless. All around impressed. Ice Age Park just arrived and I’m very much looking forward to this next challenge.

My Favorite Subscription Box

Nov 14, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Caitlinjosey
1 Review
15 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 years

I should have done this review a long time ago, but sadly I am a very forgetful person (great for replaying games like this, not so much for remembering to do a review). I have subscribed to ETC from almost the beginning, and went back to buy the first two boxes I missed to ensure I had the whole collection. As of this posting, I have played every one, but the Mothman (its to my right, taunting me, but I have to wait until I am with my mom for Thanksgiving, or she'd never forgive me).
First, and most important, if you like puzzles, escape rooms, challenges, creativity etc, this is the box for you.
I have always had an obsession with all the above to the point where I have completed every Escape Room in my city (mid-size so about 20 at this point) and this box has all the fun, and challenge, without the running around and pressure of time (unless you put the pressure on yourself or run to get another drink). So I apologize for the lengthy review but its something I would be picky about, so here goes:
Storyline - Each box is a standalone mission, you can pick up in the middle and be fine. They do tie into each other in a lose way so you "feel" a timeline, but in no means do you need a previous or future box to complete the mission. All the storylines are from different periods in history,...

Verified Purchase

Perfect for date nights!

Jan 07, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Zoe B.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 11 months

These boxes are a great date night! They're always well put together and themed. I love that each box has more than one mission so you can get a couple date nights out of it or keep playing for a longer session!

Verified Purchase

Fun at-home date night

Jan 03, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kelly K.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 years

I was excited to find this Escape Room subscription at the beginning of COVID as a fun activity for my husband and I to do together. Each crate has been different from the last and we have enjoyed the variety of scenarios. The quality of the video graphics as well as the contents of the box is unmatched. There are hints along the way if we get stuck. The Escape Crates have turned into a fun date night that we look forward to every-other month!

Verified Purchase

Really enjoyed our first box!

Yesterday
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Dawn P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

1st box was great! Really enjoyed the whole process. Good clues that increased in difficulty over time. Great support that can be used as much or little as you wish. Ease to read clues and paperwork.

Verified Purchase

Excellent game!

3 days ago
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Joann S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

Wonderful family game! Easy to understand, easy to unpack and challenging enough to make it fun! I’ll be ordering more!

Verified Purchase

Very fun

5 days ago
Overall
Quality
Jamay A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 30 days

Really fun and high quality. Very glad I bought a subscription.

Verified Purchase

Great First Box Experience

6 days ago
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Joanna C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 19 days

My husband and I played our first Escape the Crate box today and loved it! It took us just under 2 hours to play all 3 chapters of Escape the Gold Rush Robbery, so it was a great price for the length of entertainment time. So ready for the next box in our subscription! :)

Verified Purchase

It was a blast

Jan 14, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jeremy B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 17 days

Gold rush was our first box. Total it took us about 2.5 hours. It was a lot of fun. There was a little bit of a learning curve but once we got rolling it was a blast. Can’t wait for the next box

Verified Purchase

amazing

Jan 12, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Lilimae C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 18 days

Great product.

Verified Purchase

Love Escape the Crate

Jan 04, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Marcia J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 months

I love the escape the crate. My family and I have done 6 boxes so far and each one is amazing. With the combination of the box contents and the online interaction it is entertaining and challenging enough to keep you thinking but not so difficult that you get frustrated. Can’t wait till my next one arrives.

Verified Purchase

Really fun

Jan 03, 2022
Overall
Tracey R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

Really fun for a small group! We played the entire box over the evening. Great price, very thorough. Will buy more!!

Verified Purchase

LOVE

Jan 02, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Victoria R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

I have tried 3 different subscriptions and this is by far the best! The clues make you think but are not completely impossible. I love how the boxes are connected but separate at the same time. I also love that there are built in accommodations in some of the puzzles for disabilities.

Verified Purchase

High Quality Escape Rooms at Home

Jan 02, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jessica B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

We started playing escape rooms before the pandemic and once they became less of an option we sought out online and at-home equivalents. Escape The Crate has been a fantastic experience and is really good at thematically simulating the locations and overall moods of the chosen box themes. We've played this year's games and a few retired ones, and while the old ones are great as well I can definitively say that the folks putting these boxes together are continuously honing their craft. There is a noticeable increase in quality and production value over time which only means better products for customers in the future. I highly recommend these crates for puzzle enthusiasts and anyone looking for a fun game night at home with friends. It takes quite a long time to arrive (longer than other boxes we get shipped) but we are also located overseas. When there have been shipping issues in the past (only happened once) it didn't seem due to the fault of the curators and we experienced excellent customer service when resolving the issue. Besides, the box itself is always worth the wait so it's forgivable.

Verified Purchase

Great family fun for the whole family.

Jan 01, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Michael P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

This was a lot of fun which the entire family enjoyed!! Lots of thought was put into the game along with clues and game play around real items and time periods.

Verified Purchase

The only crate I buy

Jan 01, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jamie N.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months

My sister and I just finished "Escape the High Seas." What fun! The puzzles are challenging but not frustrating. This is not our first Escape the Crate and I'm always impressed by the quantity of puzzles included, and how several clues may be used multiple times in game in different ways. I really enjoy the artistry compared to other crate mystery boxes. I also like having to use our hands to rearrange items and open new items as we go. The narrative and online vids and audio are rather campy but that's part of the fun too, and binds your escape adventure into a cohesive narrative.
I don't hesitate to recommend this box to anybody who wants to enjoy a thoughtfully constructed and artistically done puzzle game. The retired boxes are a bit pricey, but can be re-gifted easily. I have tried other mystery crates before and Escape the Crate is consistently the most fun and engaging.

Verified Purchase

So much Fun!

Jan 01, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Emily B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

This collection of escape room puzzles is one of the best things I subscribe to. These kits are appropriately challenging and they offer a new experience each time. It does not get repetitive. This kit is totally worth the money as there are at least two challenges in each box. Highly recommend!

Verified Purchase

So much fun!

Jan 01, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jennifer K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

Signed up for a year subscription. Did our first one tonight (New Year's Eve). So much fun! We just finished the first chapter of our first box. Had to jump on here and tell you how much fun it is! Now back to it! We have a mystery to solve!

Verified Purchase

Loads of Fun!

Dec 29, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Gabe B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

We love Escape the Crate! We bought the Gold Rush Robbery and have had more fun than any other game we've played! Can't wait to get more of these and solve more mysteries!

Verified Purchase

Great product and a lot of fun!

Dec 29, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Katie S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 days

this was a lot of fun, and the puzzles were really well-done!

Verified Purchase

Super Fun!

Dec 26, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Mackenzie I.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

My family and I played Escape: The Roswell Incident and it was super fun! There are two chapters in the box so you can play all the way through or split the fun into two two sessions. The clues were hard enough to be fun and the website added to the experience. We can't wait for the next box!

Verified Purchase