A bi-monthly "Escape Room" subscription box full of puzzles and mysteries to solve!

Plans as low as $26.50 / 1 box every 2 months

Escape the Crate reviewsReviews

Write a Review

3 hours of fun

Mar 16, 2019
Amy A.
1 Review
1 Picture
14 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

If you want to have a great activity to do where you solve puzzles and work together - this is really a lot of fun. We started out planning to do it within an hour - two adults and 3 teens. We chose expert level because we think we are really smart. 3 hours later we solved it. You can definitely do this in under an hour because there are hints all along the way so you don’t have to ever stay stuck. This was such fun. We can’t wait for our next crate!!!

Verified Purchase

Escaped!

Mar 03, 2019
Rahayu J.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
10 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

My husband and I decided to subscribe to Escape The Crate. We received the Murder in The Forgotten Tomb and we escaped within 2 hours 20 minutes (it’s definitely not impressive! 🤣) but we sure had lots of fun with the puzzles and codes. We love going to escape rooms and this crate gave us the same experience as of those physical ones. Can’t wait for the next one! Highly recommended!

Verified Purchase

The best date night in!

Feb 16, 2020
Brittany K.
1 Review
1 Picture
1 Helpful Vote
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We had so much fun!!!! Can not wait for our next box and may even try to purchase some past boxes!!!

Perfect at home date night

Apr 17, 2020
Kelsie L.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My husband and I love playing Escape the Crate. We make it a date night at home, and cook dinner together, play the game, and have some drinks. It's perfect for a night in!! Don't tell him, but I let him solve clues I already guessed to make him feel better ;)

Verified Purchase

A Must for Escape Room fans.

Apr 18, 2020
Joe M.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

These are amazing, fun experiences. We've collected something like 16 of these and really enjoy them. They are great for groups of any size and the puzzles are always really well thought out and clever. I also enjoy the narrative through-line as a nice tie-in.

Each crate delves into a part of history that feels very well researched and thought out. I generally feel smarter when I've finished playing these. We've even had a couple times where some history buff friends could help out with answers because they knew certain pieces of the actual history.

They are great with shipping as well and have always been really fast to get back to me with any questions. They even include a "repacking" list once you're done on their site that tells you how to put it all back to default. Great for if you want to share it with a friend later.

Verified Purchase

Great box for the whole family!

Apr 13, 2020
Katie M.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 16 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Escape the Crate is a super well-thought out box. The instructions were easy to follow, you always knew what to do next. With other boxes similar to this, you usually need to figure out what to do next by yourself and that could get a little challenging. This box is great for families that have kids,the kids are actually able to participate in this one and feel needed!

Verified Purchase

Best Escape Box - Highly Recommend

May 12, 2020
Keely F.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is one of four "escape room" type subscription boxes I ordered and this is by far the best. The web interface (also used by other boxes) is utilized best by this company. The directions are easy to follow, the stories are cohesive and captivating, and we've just loved the experiences we had with the first few boxes. Some companies are very wordy and rely entirely upon the written story to draw you in, or others have too little story and are just a pile of riddles. This is the goldilocks of boxes. I wont go into the actual puzzles because spoiler alert, but the types of puzzles, the way they differ from each other, and their tie in to the story is all expertly handled. I highly recommend this box. :)

Verified Purchase

great item

May 12, 2020
Felipe A.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

we opened it a few days after it arrived and we are hooked, the puzzles are engaging and they are not that hard but also not too easy to be bored. we are playing at our own time just to get the feel for it but it is definitely something we may be looking to a long-term subscription. So far we are enjoying the crate.

Verified Purchase

You Will Not Be Disappointed

May 12, 2020
Kristina M.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality

This is our third box, and we are hooked. Each is carefully crafted, providing hours of fun for our family. Nothing beats the look of determination on my 17-year-old son, as he refuses to accept a hint and wants to solve each puzzle. After an initial trial subscription, I purchased a year subscription. Thank you, thank you, thank you for giving us such a wonderful family game.

Verified Purchase

By far the best puzzle/escape box!

May 01, 2020
Adam K.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I've subscribed to multiple escape box / puzzle subscriptions. I love going to in-person escape rooms, but they can be costly or difficult to plan with larger groups. Escape the Crate is perfect for having at home and playing on your own time. In terms of having the "at home" escape room feeling, escape the crate is easily the closest thing compared to other options. There are always lots of puzzles that can interact in different ways. The stories are actually interesting and can be a bit silly, but it is fun to feel like you have a mission rather than just solving random puzzles. The art and illustrations are fun too, often adding to the story and puzzles. The escape the crate boxes have a good number of puzzles to solve, especially compared to other options. There is a hint system that can be helpful for newer puzzle enthusiasts or times when you are stuck. Great activity for groups of 1-4. I would highly recommend to anyone who has enjoyed an escape room.

Verified Purchase

So far it’s my favorite!

Apr 09, 2020
Adriann E.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I honestly love these boxes! I’ve ordered 3 different brands but like these the best. Games are engaging..the “listen button”
rocks so everyone can hear. The puzzles challenge you but are not too crazy difficult. The use of items (I.e double sided, box, every think can have a clue) is smart and practical and the fact that it can be “reset” and played again is awesome! My husband and I played it then I brought it to school and did it with a 5th grade group!
Each crate is it’s own complete puzzle which is what I wanted. Printable extra sheets is also fantastic!

Verified Purchase

An Amazing Game and Team

Feb 19, 2020
Banu M.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall