"The Best Book Box!" Perfectly personalized for each child by our independent bookstore team!

Plans as low as $18.00 / month

Reading Bug Box reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Great Box

Feb 25, 2020
Marcia P.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Why aren't more parents talking about this box?? My kids love the books that were picked for them and are ASKING to "go on an adventure with the reading bug" via the podcast. Love this box.

Verified Purchase

Best book subscription!!

Dec 30, 2019
Jess H.
18 Reviews
9 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is the only kids book subscription you need to try. I’ve tried several for my kids, and was not impressed. But this box is far above the rest! These are not leftover books, or clearance books, or cringeworthy twaddle. These are quality books that are enjoyable even for adults to read aloud. My kids have loved every book they’ve received, and the best part is that it’s curated for my child. I also love that I’m supporting an independent bookstore. I’m telling you, this box is worth every penny, and it’s really a good price for what you receive.

Verified Purchase

Great even for older kids!

Apr 29, 2020
Ayla (.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I am a 12 year old and got this box because of quarantine. I just wanted to say, that even though I am older, this box was AWESOME! I have read so many books that I was nervous I would get titles I have already read, but I didn't! All of these books look really good and also books I have never seen before. They were my level of reading, and were all in perfect condition and looked brand new! I would highly recommend this subscription box, even if your child is older :)

Love,love, love

Mar 17, 2020
Nancy A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 17 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My son loved all of his new books. He especially loved the book about Jim Henson. My son loves making videos and I liked how they selected this book. We also loved the fact that the person who put his box together grew up in our town.

Verified Purchase

Great children's book box

Jan 24, 2020
Julie R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 15 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The books were all something my daughter loves and did vary in value but I do feel the box was worth the stated value and liked the extras. Shipping was a bit slower than expected, but now understanding the box really is custom, I am perfectly happy with the shipping time. I would order this again, but would love bimonthly and quarterly options.

Verified Purchase

REALLY???

Jan 27, 2020
Jaxon L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I was charged but didn't receive my second box. There is no where to call and inquire and no where to sign in to check on my order. Is it me?

Verified Purchase

Love this subscription

May 31, 2019
Colleen L.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The mom of the baby I gift these books every month said it was the best gift they received for their shower. Nice selection of books, and it's getting the baby familiar with books and reading. I've been sending them to him for a year; he's only 15 months now but he does look at them. He's not able to sit still for much reading yet, but he will be :)

Verified Purchase

Great selection for both kids!

Mar 27, 2019
Jill M.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall

Our personalized box was usually spot on!! The added surprises in each boxes were fun,too! The only reason we stopped the subscription was because we couldn't keep up with reading all our new books!

Verified Purchase

Birthday reading box

Jun 16, 2019
Jael S.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 14 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I ordered a three month subscription for my daughter's birthday in the beginning of June. After reading that they shipped boxes normally around the 15th of the month, I emailed to see if earlier shipping was possible. Lauren emailed me back the same day and got the box mailed the next day. My daughter really enjoyed the books chosen for her. The personal touch and excellent customer service of Reading Bug are one-of-a-kind!

Verified Purchase

Best reading box

Jun 08, 2019
Beverly H.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Great reading box for my 4 year old. She loves every book that she has received. Everything we listed that she was interested in they sent! Best reading box!!

Verified Purchase

My son loved it!

Jan 26, 2019
Daniell K.
4 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall

We just received our first box. My son was so excited for his first reading box! In the ordering survey, I mentioned that my son loves LEGOs, and sure enough, they included a cartoon LEGO book. He immediately went for that book! The other 2 books are ones I never would’ve gotten (particularly the chapter book), but only minutes later, my son is sitting in his comfy chair reading through his first chapter book. So these guys clearly know what they’re doing! He wants to read the other book before bedtime and even loves his bookmark and stickers. Great job!! Can’t wait for the next box.

Verified Purchase

THIS IS THE BEST!!

Feb 13, 2019
Dalinda D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 14 days
Overall

My daughter receive her first box today and she LOVED everything in the box. The books are great quality and are new! She loved this more then the jojo box! :)

Verified Purchase

LOVE this reading box!!

Dec 21, 2018
Sarah M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

I couldn't be more thrilled with this subscription box. Every book has been a winner in our house and is enjoyed by my daughter AND the parents who get to read them along with her. We both look forward to it every month and can't wait for the next delivery. They always include sweet personal notes and little fun something extra (colored pencils, little notebooks, stickers, and more) that make it extra special. This month we got a beautiful version of the Secret Garden, an adorable dinosaur book, and a finger trails bug book great for her age as she is learning to write. They are always fun and original choices. I really can't say enough good things about this subscription box.

Verified Purchase

My little cousin loved his box!

Sep 29, 2018
Briana M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 27 days
Overall

Fun and magical box. Keep up all the great work!

Verified Purchase

the best!

Sep 16, 2018
Barbara L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

We've tried a few book (and other) subscriptions, but this is really the best. Each box is packed with love and great books.

Verified Purchase

Excellent value

Sep 16, 2018
John L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall

We're all HUGE fans of the Reading Bug podcast. We learned about Reading Bug Box there and decided to give it a try! So far the boxes have been amazing, with each book extremely well matched to the details I gave them about my daughter when we signed up. The value of all the books and other items is worth the price, but it's even more valuable because the books are ones she is actually excited to read. She even got a personal note from Lauren - who is on the podcast - which really made her day! Such a great company and a wonderful, personalized service.

Verified Purchase

A Great Gift

Sep 14, 2018
Jonah T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall

Purchased as a gift for my nieces. The girls loved their book boxes and each book choice was geared for their age and different interests. The boxes were gifts for the summer and they both read every single book. Thank you!

Verified Purchase